The Nigerian Bar Association (NBA) has appointed three new Trustees to join its Board of Trustees. The Trustees are Mr. Yunus Ustaz Usman, SAN (NBA Kaduna Branch); Mr. George Etomi (NBA Lagos Branch) and Patricia Igwebuike (NBA Oji River Branch). This brings to nine the total number of NBA Trustees.

An unimpeachable source told CITY LAWYER that the appointments were proposed and accepted at the pre-Annual General Conference National Executive Council (NEC) Meeting and ratified by the Annual General Meeting (AGM) both of which held in Lagos.

CITY LAWYER reliably gathered that appointment letters have been issued to the new Trustees.

The appointments are in line with Section 24(ii) of the amended NBA Constitution which provides that “The Trustees shall be nine (9) in number and shall be known as THE INCORPORATED TRUSTEES OF THE NIGERIAN BAR ASSOCIATION in accordance with the provisions of Part F of the Companies and Allied Matters Act, Act No. 3 2020 (“CAMA” as may be amended from time-to-time). Provided that each geographical zone of the Association as defined in this Constitution shall have an equal number of Trustees.”

Usman was until recently the Chairman of the dissolved NBA Disciplinary Committee. The 15-member committee was set up to investigate complaints of professional impropriety or other misconduct against members of the Bar and to make appropriate recommendations.

Etomi was Chairman of the 12-member Transition Committee which birthed the Olumide Akpata Administration. He was also the pioneer Chairman of NBA Section on Business Law (NBA-SBL). In 2016, Etomi was appointed a member of the Body of Benchers, and is a recipient of the National Productivity Order of Merit Award (NPOM). He is also a member of the International Trade in Legal Services of the Bar Issues Commission of the International Bar Association (IBA) and a regular facilitator at global business conferences.

Igwebuike is currently a Cabinet Member in the Professor Chukwuma Soludo Administration. A former Chairman of NBA Oji River Branch, Igwebuike was a Special Assistant to former Governor Willie Obiano also of Anambra State. She was the Secretary of the recently dissolved NBA General Purposes Committee.

Other members of the Board of Trustees are Dr. Olisa Agbakoba SAN (Chairman), Mr. Joseph Daudu SAN, Mr. Augustine Alegeh SAN, Chief Kanu Agabi SAN, Mrs. Fatima Kwaku, and Mr. Obafemi Adewale.

To join our Telegram platform, please click here 

COPYRIGHT 2022 CITY LAWYER. Please send emails to Join us on Facebook at and on TWITTER at To ADVERTISE in CITY LAWYER, please email or call 08138380083. All materials available on this Website are protected by copyright, trade mark and other proprietary and intellectual property laws. You may not use any of our intellectual property rights without our express written consent or attribution to However, you are permitted to print or save to your individual PC, tablet or storage extracts from this Website for your own personal non-commercial use.