The yearly conference of the Nigerian Bar Association Section on Public Interest and Development Law (NBA-SPIDEL) earlier scheduled to hold in Sokoto State last May has been moved to Abuja. The annual conference will now hold on August 4 and 5, 2022.

CITY LAWYER recalls that the conference was postponed indefinitely due to security concerns that trailed the murder of Lady Deborah Yakubu by suspects over an alleged blasphemy.

According to a statement made available to CITY LAWYER, “After a careful consideration, the Executive of NBA-SPIDEL has chosen the 4th and 5th of August 2022 for the Conference at the NBA National Headquarters, Abuja with the theme: THE UNDERMINING OF JUDICIAL AUTHORTIY IN DEMOCRACY.”

The Keynote Address for the Annual Conference will be delivered by HON. JUSTICE INYANG OKORO while the Attorneys-General of Lagos State, Abia State and Chief Mike Ozekhome SAN have all confirmed their attendance to the conference as Resource Persons.

The first day is 4th of August, 2022. It is going to be a plenary with the topic: “Disobedience to Court Order – A Call to Anarchy”. This will be followed by the afternoon session.

Day Two will dissect the topic: “The Impediments to Seamless Execution of Court Order in Nigeria – Any way out? CHIEF MIKE OZEKHOME SAN is the Lead Speaker.

The afternoon session will witness a special programme involving Law Pavilion and Nigeria Human Rights Commission. The Chairman of NBA-SPIDEL, Dr. Monday Ubani will coordinate the Law Pavilion session in conjunction with the organization while National Human Rights Commission programme will be coordinated by Dr. Uju Agomoh in conjunction with the commission.

Full programme details will soon be unveiled by the Conference Planning Committee (CPC).

The two-day conference will parade judges, notable lawyers, legislators, politicians and other public interest stakeholders.

The following are Members of the Conference Planning Committee who have less than a month to deliver a world-class conference:

1. Chukwuka Ikwuazom SAN – Chairman
2. Kunle Adegoke SAN – Alternate Chairman
3. Dr. Princess Frank Chukwuani Alternate Chairman/LOC Chairman
4. Amina Kaoje – Secretary
5. Chioma Linda Ekene – Alternate Secretary
6. Okey Leo Ohagba (Sub-Committee Chairman on Logistics and Accommodation)
7. Emeka Nwadioke Esq.
8. Kola Omotinugbon – Alternate Chairman/LOC
9. Mohammed Abdullahi Esq.
10. Godfrey Echeho Esq.
11. Dr. Uju Agomoh Esq
12. Dr. Ikenna Ukam 
13. Chika Okolie Esq.
14. Funmi Adeogun, Esq. (NBA-SPIDEL Treasurer)
15. Chisom Onuoha Esq.
16. Prof. Paul Ananaba SAN
17. Gbenga Oniyire Esq.
18. Austin Ottah Esq.
19. Frank Agbedo Esq.
20. Simple Dioha Esq.
21. Dr. Sam Amadi 
22. Dr. Muiz Banire SAN
23. Mr. Olaotan Ajose-Adeogun SAN
24. Chukwuemeka Clement Esq. (Secretary, LOC)
25. Jesse Nwaenyo Esq.
26. Kunle Edun, Esq.
27. Paul Daudu, Esq.

“We hope to have a successful conference. All the registered members and those who are interested to attend are hereby put on notice to pay quickly to the following Account number: Access Bank A/C No 0775676671.

“Thank you very much for your commitment.”

Yours faithfully,

Dr. M. O. Ubani
NBA-Spidel Chairman

To join our Telegram platform, please click here 

COPYRIGHT 2022 CITY LAWYER. Please send emails to Join us on Facebook at and on TWITTER at To ADVERTISE in CITY LAWYER, please email or call 08138380083. All materials available on this Website are protected by copyright, trade mark and other proprietary and intellectual property laws. You may not use any of our intellectual property rights without our express written consent or attribution to However, you are permitted to print or save to your individual PC, tablet or storage extracts from this Website for your own personal non-commercial use.