Mr. Bisi Makanjuola has emerged the new Chairman of the Nigerian Bar Association (NBA) Lagos Branch following the conclusion of today’s keenly contested branch elections.

He polled 720 votes to beat his closest rival, Mr. Mayowa Owolabi who garnered 684 votes. Mr. Adebola Lema polled 258 votes to come a distant third.

Makanjuola had posted an early lead in the race, trumping Owolabi with as many as 58 votes. The gap however began to narrow as the elections drew to a close, even as CITY LAWYER gathered that he never let off the double-digit lead throughout the duration of the race.

As predicted by CITY LAWYER, it was a tight race between the two leading contenders, as they went neck-and-neck throughout the duration of the poll.

Meanwhile, the post of Vice Chairman has gone to former Counsel at TEXACO Nigeria Plc and Lead Partner at Estelle Attorneys & Legal Consult, Esther Ifeoma Jimoh who garnered a whopping 1107 votes to beat her rival, Adefowoke AyoPonle who polled 522 votes.

Mr. Emuobonuvie Majemite, a Partner at PUNUKA Attorneys and Solicitors clinched the post of Secretary with 889 votes to beat Mr. Kelechukwu Uzoka who polled 754 votes.

Also, Oyindamola Chinelo Fasakin of Riceky Tarfa & Co has been returned as the Social Secretary with 895 votes, defeating Mr. Dickson Obairi who polled 732 votes, while Mr. Omoniyi Onabule trumped Bayo Olusanya with 823 votes to emerge as the next Publicity Secretary of the branch. Olusanya polled 770 votes.

Meanwhile, the Electoral Committee had to send a strong warning to rein in canvassers who were still calling eligible voters and sending messages om sundry platforms to woo voters, hours after the ballot had opened.

The Electoral Committee members were hands-on via branch digital platforms in tracking complaints from eligible voters who did not receive their voting links and tackling such complaints.

Other candidates were returned unopposed. The list of newly elected Executive Committee is below:

Olabisi Makanjuola – Chairman
Esther Ifeoma Jimoh – Vice Chairman
Emuobonuvie Majemite – Secretary
Ono Frances Oliko – Treasurer
Bennita Nneka Olejeme – Financial Secretary
Olaide Oluwayomi-Ajewole – Welfare Secretary
Oyindamola Chinelo Fasakin – Social Secretary
Omoniyi Onabule – Publicity Secretary
Jubril Abiodun Ali – Provost
Adeola Olabamiji – Asst. Secretary